Laser removal of spider veins or telangiectases

Contents:

  1. What is a laser in the modern sense?
  2. History of Laser Medicine
  3. The mechanism of laser action on blood vessels
  4. Examination before the laser procedure
  5. Indications for transcutaneous laser treatment
  6. Contraindications to laser removal of blood vessels
  7. Features of removal of spider veins or telangiectases by a percutaneous laser

What is a laser in the modern sense?

Laser - a device that creates a powerful stream of electromagnetic radiation with a certain wavelength. In other words, it is a beam of monochromatic light of high intensity. The postulates that made it possible to create such a device were formulated by Albert Einstein at the beginning of the 20th century, and the first optical quantum laser (laser) producing waves in the optical range was created by 1960 by Theodor Meiman (USA).

Laser generator "CUTERA XEO"

Laser generator "CUTERA XEO"

History of Laser Medicine

Vascular formations of different localization, being cosmetic defects, often cause psychological discomfort both for women and men. The first attempts to solve such problems with the help of laser radiation were made at the end of the 60, the beginning of the 70-ies of the last century. An argon laser with continuous radiation was used. Despite the effectiveness, an abundance of unwanted reactions (scarring, permanent dyspigmentation) significantly limited the use of this technique.

The situation changed the formulation of the theory of selective photothermolysis by Harvard Medical School scientists Richard Anderson and John Parrish in 1983. This produced a kind of revolution in laser medical technologies. The basis of this theory is the selective absorption by different substances of radiation with different wavelengths. That is, the light beam of a certain monochromatic light will be absorbed by a chromatophoric substance (the concentration of which in the target cell is much higher), will give it energy and cause the corresponding effect, without affecting the surrounding tissues. Determination of the appropriate wavelength, pulse duration and energy density allowed physicians to selectively affect hemoglobin in blood vessels without damaging surrounding tissues. The result of this tactic was a sharp decrease in side effects, such as hypo- and hyperpigmentation, almost complete absence of scarring.

The mechanism of laser action on blood vessels

The ultimate goal of laser treatment is to induce damage to the vessel wall by destroying hemoglobin while minimizing damage to adjacent structures. When choosing a laser, the first step is to determine the spectral absorption peaks of the target chromophore. In the case of vascular lesions, it is deoxyhemoglobin, oxyhemoglobin, and water. Laser systems used to treat vascular lesions emit wavelengths near these peaks. Longer waves are preferred for relatively deep vascular formations, such as veins on the legs, while shorter wavelengths are more suitable for removing surface vascular lesions, such as vascular sprouts and telangiectasia on the face.

Laser platform "CUTERA XEO"

Laser platform "CUTERA XEO"

After selecting the appropriate laser, it is important to correctly adjust the radiation parameters. These include the pulse width, the energy density, and the size of the light spot. The pulse duration is determined by the thermal relaxation time (TRT) of the target. Essentially, this is defined as the time needed for the heated tissue to lose about half its heat. A laser pulse that is shorter than or equal to TRT will result in damage to the target vessel. The energy density and the size of the light spot will directly affect the depth of optical penetration (in the tissue). That is, an increase in these parameters will be required if the target is deep inside the dermis, with a larger diameter of the target vessel.

In the treatment of all vascular lesions, it is important to cool the skin surface to minimize damage to the epidermis.

Examination before the laser procedure

Before the beginning of treatment, the patient is given a general medical examination, for lack of contraindications. The procedure, as a rule, does not require special preparation, nevertheless, it is worth refraining from sunbathing, solarium, chemical peeling in the treatment area, taking anticoagulants about 2 weeks before the treatment.

Are vascular sprouts dangerous for health? The presence of telangiectasias in itself does not pose a threat to life and health. Nevertheless, in some cases, the appearance of cobwebs on the legs is associated with varicose, post-thrombotic disease, vascular dysplasia. In order to identify these clinical situations, ultrasound duplex scanning of the veins of the lower extremities is carried out before all patients are treated.

During the demonstration session of laser removal of stars

During the demonstration session of laser removal of stars

Indications for transcutaneous laser treatment

Indications for laser treatment are:

  • Teleangiectasia ("Vascular sprouts") - small dilated blood vessels (diameter from 0,1 to 1 mm), morphologically represented by asterisks and meshes on various parts of the body.
  • Venous lakes - is a soft papule of dark blue, violet, from 2 to 10 mm in diameter, usually located in the face, more often on the skin of the outer ear, scarlet border of the lips.
  • Reticular veins on the legs - expanded, often convoluted vessels with a diameter of 1 - 3 mm.
  • Hemangiomas - benign vascular tumors. The structure and the dominant type of blood supply distinguish: capillary, cavernous, arterial, venous and mixed types of hemangiomas.
  • Wine stains (nevus flammeus) - a local change in skin color caused by a vascular anomaly (capillary malformation). In the overwhelming majority of cases, pathology is congenital and persists throughout life (without appropriate treatment).

Contraindications to laser treatment are:

  • oncological disease
  • pregnancy
  • vitiligo
  • herpes, as well as other viral and bacterial infections in the acute stage
  • infectious diseases

Features of removal of spider veins or telangiectases by a percutaneous laser

The duration of the procedure depends on the prevalence of vascular changes and takes from 25 to 40 minutes. The parameters of laser radiation are selected individually for each individual patient. Most vascular neoplasms irretrievably disappear immediately after laser exposure, rarely repeated procedures are required. Their number (in most cases is required from 1 to 3 sessions) and the intervals between them are determined by the attending physician depending on the volume of vascular lesion and the reaction of the skin to laser exposure.

After the procedure, the patient can immediately return to the habitual way of life, however, one should refrain from thermal loads (hot bath, sauna) for 24 hours, do not expose the treated insolation sites for 2 weeks (use sunscreen with SPF 50 for exit to the open sun).

The price of laser coagulation of vascular formations in Moscow varies widely and can reach 2000 rubles per asterisk.

To date, the gold standard for the treatment of telangiectasias and reticular veins is sclerotherapy. Nevertheless, there are situations (allergy to sclerosing substances, trypanophobia - fear of needles, the presence of vessels smaller than the diameter of the needle 30 G), metting (the appearance of a network of microvessels in the area of ​​sclerotherapy). For such patients, transcutaneous laser therapy is the ideal solution.

The ability of the laser system to accurately deliver energy to the target can effectively and safely remove a variety of vascular structures in any part of the body.

Удаление сосудистых звёздочек лазером

Лазер – устройство, создающее мощный поток электромагнитного излучения с определённой длинной волны. Другими словами, это луч монохроматичного света высокой интенсивности. Постулаты, позволившие создать подобное устройство, сформулировал ещё Альберт Энштейн в начале XX века, а первый оптический квантовый генератор (лазер), производящий волны в оптическом диапазоне, был создан в 1960 Теодором Мейманом (США).

Sosudistie zvezdjchki

Лазерный генератор «CUTERA XEO»

 

Сосудистые образования различной локализации, являясь косметическими дефектами нередко вызывают психологический дискомфорт как у женщин, так и мужчин. Первые попытки решения подобных проблем при помощи лазерного излучения были предприняты в конце 60-х, начале 70-х годов прошлого века. Использовался аргоновый лазер с непрерывным излучением. Несмотря на эффективность, обилие нежелательных реакций (рубцевание, перманентная диспигментация) существенно ограничивали использование данной методики.

Положение изменило формулирование теории селективного фототермолиза учёными Гарвардской медицинской школы Ричардом Андерсоном и Джоном Пэрришем в 1983 году. Это произвело своеобразную революцию в лазерных медицинских технологиях. Основой данной теории является избирательное поглощение разными веществами излучения с различными длинами волн. То есть световой луч определённого монохромного света будет поглощён веществом-хроматофором (концентрация которого в клетке-мишени значительно выше), сообщит ему энергию и вызовет соответствующий эффект, не воздействуя при этом на окружающие ткани. Определение соответствующей длины волны, длительности импульса и плотности энергии позволило врачам избирательно воздействовать на гемоглобин в кровеносных сосудах, не повреждая окружающие ткани. Результатом данной тактики стало резкое снижение побочных эффектов, таких как гипо- и гиперпигментация, почти полное отсутствие рубцевания.

Конечной целью лазерного лечения является индуцирование повреждения стенки сосуда путем разрушения гемоглобина при минимизации повреждения соседних структур. При выборе лазера первым шагом является определение пиков спектрального поглощения целевого хромофора. В случае сосудистых поражений это дезоксигемоглобин, оксигемоглобин, а также вода. Лазерные системы, используемые для лечения сосудистых поражений, излучают длины волн вблизи этих пиков.  Более длинные волны предпочтительны для относительно глубоких сосудистых образований, таких как вены на ногах, тогда как более короткие длины волн больше подходят для удаления поверхностных сосудистых поражений, таких как сосудистые звёздочки и телеангиоэктазии на лице.

Lazer cutera

Лазерная платформа «CUTERA XEO»

 

После выбора подходящего лазера важно грамотно настроить параметры излучения. К ним относятся длительность импульса, плотность энергии и размер светового пятна. Длительность импульса определяется временем тепловой релаксации (TRT) мишени. По существу, это определяется как время, необходимое для того, чтобы нагретая ткань потеряла около половины своего тепла. Лазерный импульс, который короче или равен TRT, приведет к повреждению, ограниченному целевым сосудом. Плотность энергии и размер светового пятна будут напрямую влиять на глубину оптического проникновения (в ткани). То есть, увеличение этих параметров потребуется, если мишень находится глубоко внутри дермы, при большем диаметре целевого сосуда.

При лечении всех сосудистых поражений немаловажное значение имеет охлаждение поверхности кожи для минимизации повреждения эпидермиса.

Перед началом лечения пациенту проводится общемедицинское обследование, на предмет отсутствия противопоказаний. Процедура, как правило, не требует специальной подготовки, тем не менее, стоит воздержаться от солнечных ванн, солярия, химического пилинга в области обработки, приёма антикоагулянтов около 2-х недель до лечения.

Опасны ли сосудистые звёздочки для здоровья? Наличие телеангиоэктазий само по себе не несёт угрозы жизни и здоровью. Тем не менее, в ряде случаев появление паутинок на ногах связано с варикозной, посттромботической болезнью, сосудистой дисплазией. Для выявления данных клинических ситуаций всем пациентам перед началом лечения проводится ультразвуковое дуплексное сканирование вен нижних конечностей.

Sosudistie zvezdjchki lazer

Во время показательного сеанса лазерного удаления звёздочек

 

Показания к транскутанному лазерному лечению:

  • Телеангиоэктазии («сосудистые звёздочки») - небольшие расширенные кровеносные сосуды (диаметр от 0,1 до 1 мм), морфологически представленные звёздочками и сеточками на различных участках тела.
  • Венозные озерца – представляет из себя мягкую папулу тёмно-синего, фиолетового цвета, от 2 до 10 мм в диаметре, обычно локализующуюся в области лица, чаще на коже наружного уха, алой границе губ.
  • Ретикулярные вены на ногах – расширенные, нередко извитые сосуды диаметром 1 - 3 мм.
  • Гемангиомы – доброкачественные сосудистые опухоли. По структуре и доминирующему типу кровоснабжения различают: капиллярные, кавернозные, артериальные, венозные и смешанные виды гемангиом.
  • Винные пятна (nevus flammeus) – локальное изменение цвета кожи, вызванное сосудистой аномалией (капиллярной мальформацией). В подавляющем большинстве случаев патология является врождённой и сохраняется на протяжении всей жизни (без соответствующего лечения).

Противопоказаниями к лазерному лечению являются:

  • онкологическое заболевание
  • беременность
  • витилиго
  • герпес, а также прочие вирусные и бактериальные инфекции в стадии обострения
  • инфекционные заболевания

Длительность процедуры зависит от распространённости сосудистых изменений и занимает от 25 до 40 минут. Параметры лазерного излучения подбираются индивидуально для каждого конкретного пациента. Большинство сосудистых новообразований безвозвратно исчезают сразу после лазерного воздействия, реже требуются повторные процедуры.   Их количество (в большинстве случаев требуется от 1 до 3 сеансов) и интервалы между ними определяет лечащий врач в зависимости от объёма сосудистого поражения и реакции кожного покрова на лазерное воздействие.

После процедуры пациент может сразу вернуться к привычному для него образу жизни, всё же следует воздержаться от термических нагрузок (горячая ванна, сауна) на 24 часа, не стоит подвергать обработанные участки инсоляции в течение 2-х недель (пользоваться солнцезащитным кремом с SPF 50 при выходе на открытое солнце).

Цена лазерной коагуляции сосудистых образований в Москве широко варьируется и может доходить до 2000 рублей за звёздочку.

На сегодняшний день золотым стандартом лечения телеангиоэктазий и ретикулярных вен является склеротерапия. Тем не менее встречаются ситуации (аллергия на склерозирующие вещества, трипанофобия – боязнь иглы, наличие сосудов, меньших диаметра иглы 30 G), меттинг (появление сетки микрососудов в зоне выполнения склеротерапии). Для таких пациентов транскутанная лазерная терапия является идеальным решением.

Способность лазерной системы очень точно доставлять энергию к мишени позволяет эффективно и безопасно удалять разнообразные сосудистые образования на любом участке тела.