Treatment of varicose veins with leeches. Hirudotherapy for varicose veins.

Contents:

  1. History of leech treatment for varicose veins (hirudotherapy)
  2. Treatment for varicose veins with leeches - a modern view of hirudotherapy
  3. Complications in the treatment of varicose leeches
  4. Patient questions about leech varicose veins

History of leech treatment for varicose veins (hirudotherapy)

Exact data, when hirudotherapy was first applied, was not preserved. Perhaps this was done by the healers of the primitive communal system. Mention of the use of leeches for medical purposes is in the writings of Hippocrates, Avicenna, Galen. There is reliable evidence of leech treatment in ancient Egypt. For centuries, hirudotherapy has remained a worthy and effective tool in the arsenal of many doctors of the past.

Treatment for varicose leeches

Treatment for varicose leeches

 

No wonder. Until the beginning of the 20th century, leech treatment simply had no direct competitors. Any complications of such treatment faded in comparison with the effect of hemodilution (blood thinning). This is due to the presence in the saliva of a leech of hirudin, a substance with the effect of hemodilution. In this regard, leeches were the best means of their time. The availability of leeches was also the factor that determined their presence in the arsenal of most doctors and healers of the past. Everything fundamentally changed the discovery of heparin in 1916. There was a more effective, and most importantly, safer and more controlled means to reduce blood clotting activity. Nevertheless, today a number of modern specialists continue to use leeches for these purposes. Mainly to improve blood supply to ischemic tissues (with reduced arterial blood flow).

 

Treatment for varicose veins with leeches - a modern view of hirudotherapy

The use of leeches in the treatment of varicose veins in past centuries was probably dictated by the effect obtained with the development of venous thrombosis. There were no analogues of hirudotherapy then and were content with what was.

The use of leeches for the treatment of varicose veins and venous thrombosis today, in the 21st century, is not entirely professional and even absurd.

Hirudotherapy in the treatment of varicose veins

Hirudotherapy in the treatment of varicose veins

 

For the treatment of venous thrombosis, there are much more effective and safe means. Treatment of varicose veins does not involve the use of blood-thinning agents in principle. In other words, hirudotherapy for the treatment of varicose veins has, in general, no scientific basis. At the same time, the consequences of such treatment are familiar to every practicing phlebologist.

 

Complications in the treatment of varicose leeches

Specific scars that reveal the previously occurring local necrosis of the skin and tissue, tissue pigmentation, local inflammatory reaction - this is the effect of the absolutely useless treatment of varicose veins with leeches.

Complications in the treatment of varicose leeches

Complications in the treatment of varicose leeches

 

Today, many actions are dictated by the principles of economic success and profitability. Medicinal leeches are available at a relatively low cost. With the proper marketing approach, hirudotherapy is profitable! But do these factors justify the use of leeches today? The answer of a good modern specialist is: definitely not. Hirudotherapy was relevant in its time, but this time has passed, like the time of the "duremar".

Even if you are a devoted fan of traditional methods and traditional medicine, remember, treatment of varicose veins with leeches is ineffective, unsafe and just stupid.

 

Patient questions about leech varicose veins

Tatyana from Moscow is interested in: do you prescribe leeches with varicose veins of the lower extremities?

Dear Tatyana! Specialists of the Moscow City Phlebological Center do not use leeches (hirudotherapy) in the treatment of varicose veins, never. Leeches with varicose veins of the lower extremities are not only ineffective, but can also cause complications.

Natalia from Moscow asks: where do you recommend putting leeches with varicose veins?

Dear Natalia! The position of the Innovation Phlebological Center in Moscow is unambiguous, we do not recommend the use of leeches in case of varicose veins.

Isabella from Moscow asks: do leeches help with varicose veins?

Dear Isabella! Hirudotherapy (the use of leeches) is absolutely ineffective for the treatment of varicose veins. In addition, the use of leeches can cause quite unpleasant complications of varicose veins.

Bahor from Moscow asks: a doctor at the city state hospital advised treatment with leeches of varicose veins. I doubt whether it is worth undergoing treatment with leeches?

Dear Bahor! Leeches with varicose veins are not a good idea, there will be no positive effect from such treatment. Serious complications are possible. I recommend you a specialist consultation in a good city phlebology center, where effective treatment will be prescribed.

Margarita from Moscow is interested in: is leech treatment for varicose veins effective with an ulcer?

Dear Margarita! The use of leeches with varicose veins complicated by a trophic venous ulcer is strictly contraindicated. The ulcer not only does not heal, but can become infected and increase in size. A truly effective treatment for varicose veins complicated by an ulcer is only possible in a good city phlebology center, which I highly recommend contacting.

Лечение варикоза пиявками. Гирудотерапия при варикозе.

Содержание:

  1. История лечение варикоза пиявками (гирудотерапия)
  2. Лечение варикоза с помощью пиявок - современное представление о гирудотерапии
  3. Осложнения при лечении варикоза пиявками
  4. Вопросы пациентов о лечении варикоза пиявками

История лечение варикоза пиявками (гирудотерапия)

Точных данных, когда впервые применили гирудотерапию, не сохранилось. Возможно, это сделали ещё врачеватели первобытнообщинного строя. Упоминания о применении пиявок в медицинских целях есть в трудах Гиппократа, Авиценны, Галена. Имеются достоверные данные о лечении пиявками в древнем Египте. На протяжении веков гирудотерапия оставалась достойным и эффективным средством в арсенале многих докторов прошлого.

Лечение варикоза пиявками

Лечение варикоза пиявками

 

Это не удивительно. До начала 20-го столетия у лечения пиявками просто не было прямых конкурентов. Любые осложнения такого лечения меркли в сравнении с эффектом гемодилюции (разжижения крови). Это связано с наличием в слюне пиявки гирудина, вещества, обладающего эффектом гемодилюции. В этом отношении пиявки были лучшим средством своего времени. Доступность пиявок так же было тем фактором, который определял их наличие в арсенале большинства докторов и врачевателей прошлого. Всё кардинально изменило открытие гепарина в 1916 году. Появилось более эффективное, а главное, более безопасное и контролируемое средство для снижения свёртывающей активности крови. Всё же и сегодня ряд современных специалистов продолжают использовать пиявок для этих целей. В основном для улучшения кровоснабжения на ишемизированных тканях (со сниженным артериальным кровотоком).

 

Лечение варикоза с помощью пиявок - современное представление о гирудотерапии

Использование пиявок в лечении варикозной болезни в прошлые века диктовались, вероятно, полученным эффектом при развитии венозного тромбоза. Аналогов гирудотерапии тогда не имели и довольствовались тем, что было.

Применение пиявок для лечения варикоза и венозного тромбоза сегодня, в 21 веке, не совсем профессионально и даже абсурдно.

Гирудотерапия при лечении варикозной болезни

Гирудотерапия при лечении варикозной болезни

 

Для терапии венозного тромбоза есть куда более эффективные и безопасные средства. Лечение варикозной болезни не предполагает использования кроворазжижающих средств в принципе. Другими словами, гирудотерапия для лечения варикозной болезни не имеет под собой, вообще, никакой научной основы. В то же время последствия такого лечения знакомы каждому практикующему флебологу.

 

Осложнения при лечении варикоза пиявками

Специфические рубцы, выдающие произошедший ранее локальный некроз кожи и клетчатки, пигментация тканей, местная воспалительная реакция – вот эффект от абсолютно бесполезного лечения варикозной болезни пиявками.

Осложнения при лечении варикоза пиявками

Осложнения при лечении варикоза пиявками

 

Сегодня многие действия диктуются принципами экономического успеха, рентабельности. Медицинские пиявки доступны, их себестоимость относительно невелика. При должном маркетинговом подходе гирудотерапия – это выгодно! Но оправдывают ли эти факторы применение пиявок сегодня? Ответ хорошего современного специалиста: однозначно нет. Гирудотерапия была актуальна в своё время, но это время прошло, как и время «дуремаров».

Даже если вы преданный поклонник традиционных методик и народной медицины, помните, лечение варикоза пиявками – неэффективно, небезопасно и просто глупо.

 

Вопросы пациентов о лечении варикоза пиявками

Татьяна из Москвы интересуется: назначаете ли вы пиявки при варикозе нижних конечностей?

Уважаемая Татьяна! Специалисты Московского городского флебологического центра не используют в лечении варикозной болезни пиявок (гирудотерапию), никогда. Пиявки при варикозной болезни нижних конечностей не только неэффективны, но и могут спровоцировать осложнения.

Наталья из Москвы спрашивает: куда вы рекомендуете ставить пиявки при варикозе?

Уважаемая Наталья! Позиция Инновационного флебологического центра в Москве однозначна, мы не рекомендуем вообще использовать пиявки при варикозной болезни.

Изабелла из Москвы спрашивает: помогают ли пиявки от варикоза?

Уважаемая Изабелла! Гирудотерапия (использование пиявок) абсолютно неэффективно для лечения варикозной болезни. Помимо этого, использование пиявок может вызвать достаточно неприятные осложнения варикозной болезни.

Бахор из Москвы спрашивает: доктор в городской государственной больнице посоветовала лечение пиявками варикозной болезни. Сомневаюсь, стоит ли проходить лечение пиявками?

Уважаемая Бахор! Пиявки при варикозе не самая хорошая идея, положительного эффекта от такого лечения не будет. Возможны серьёзные осложнения. Рекомендую Вам консультацию специалиста в хорошем городском флебологическом центре, где будет назначено эффективное лечение.

Маргарита из Москвы интересуется: эффективно ли лечение пиявками варикозной болезни с язвой?

Уважаемая Маргарита! Использование пиявок при варикозной болезни, осложнённой трофической венозной язвой категорически противопоказано. Язва не только не заживёт, но может инфицироваться и увеличиться в размерах. По-настоящему эффективное лечение варикозной болезни, осложнённой язвой возможно только в хорошем городском флебологическом центре, куда я настоятельно рекомендую обратиться.